Vegan At Last.

vegan

Me right now

If you’ve been keeping up with my posts, you know that I called myself an “aspiring” vegan. This is because for years, I’ve been flip-flopping all over the place with vegetarianism, veganism, gluten-free…ism, raw foodism, dairy-freeism, egg-freeism, and meat-eating……ism. ( Told myself they all have to end in “ism” )

All the while I knew that, ultimately, I must be vegan. It is the only sustainable and morally livable lifestyle. Up until now, I had everything but the diet down.

I had reached the point where I just couldn’t take it anymore. The reason I failed so many times before, reverting back to meat, is because I wasn’t eating enough real food. I’m talking legumes, whole grains, and vegetables. Any junk food vegan will not last unless he/she makes changes. I finally discovered that any junk food diet is slowly killing anybody. Because still, I was unhealthy as a meat-eater.

Eating unhealthy foods in either scenario is a massive detriment. When I’d revert to animal products, still I wasn’t giving nutrients to or treating my body how it deserves. I needed nourishment. Finally, after all this experimentation and time spent, I’ve been getting it.

Taking the meat-eater vs. the vegan, I have experienced that both utterly need the following: fruits, vegetables, whole grains, legumes, nuts, and seeds.

The only dietary difference is meat. If it’s not grass-fed slash organic slash not-full-of-drugs, it’s a detriment. The extreme majority of meat available in the US ( yes, even hippified California where I live ) is, as I see it, contaminated. 

Personally, I’ve excluded dairy and eggs for a couple of reasons. I have some sort of intolerance with both but especially dairy. And I have some very offensive opinions about both – but especially dairy. 

That’s just from a health standpoint. Yes, animal products are drugged-up but as more and more of us are coming to realize, their production is unsustainable and fundamentally inhumane. ( I often forget that humanity is supposed to be positive… )

You might think the cost of safe meat is fiscal, but is that the real cost?

MV5BMDI5ODBjYjUtNWQ1YS00MTI4LTkxZGMtYzhkY2I0MTNkNDI1XkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyMjg5MDEyMzg@._V1_.jpg

For environmental information, you’ve got to watch Cowspiracy.

And if you’re curious about the moral aspect, here’s some information and inspiration:

I had watched all of those, as well as Cowspiracy, a long time ago. It’s the whole reason I flip-flopped with veganism. What was holding me back was my relationship with food.

As someone who has lost 30 pounds, I clearly struggled with that relationship. When I was 30 pounds heavier, it was a worse struggle. Today, although I still have more to lose, the struggle has eased. Bear in mind, diet is something I have to figure out. It’s not inherent.

It’s only natural that didn’t know how to do any diet, whether it’s meat-eatingism or veganism, the right way.

No more experiments. I crossed some sort of threshold and found the key to what is my number one concern: health.

key.png  I simply must eat real food.

I’ve been doing that. And it’s taken me to a place, physical and otherwise, where I can live how I want to, how I should.

If you’re thinking about going vegan, get to a healthy place first, whatever that may mean for you. After all, this is about a life change.

With the notion of eating actual food in mind, any dietary choice is up for grabs. I know, though, that there is no choice when in comes to veganism. It’s as impersonal as it gets, really.

I suppose I can say it now. I’m a vegan.

tumblr_inline_mww0b7RgwE1r0jzp4

Okay. Bye!

cropped-tumblr_nt2p1drghh1s4c5ilo1_500.gif

5 thoughts on “Vegan At Last.

  1. thebalancebrigade says:

    super post! and good luck with your journey, i’m looking forward to reading more, as I’ve just adopted a whole-food plant-based diet myself! I love it!! and oh my god, I just died laughing at your use of the diCaprio pic for this!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

